Belgium, Luxembourg, Portugal and Iceland join the EU gateway for EU Digital Covid Certificates


Belgium, Luxembourg, Portugal and Iceland joined the EU gateway for EU Digital Covid Certificates.

The EU gateway is now live in 16 EU countries – which started issuing certificates, three weeks ahead of the deadline.

On June 1st, seven Member States – Bulgaria, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia and Poland – first connected to the gateway and started issuing first EU certificates. Lithuania and Spain joined on the 7th of June. Austria, Estonia and Latvia joined on the 10th of June.

Technically ready to connect to the EUDCC gateway Effectively connected, issuing and/or verifying at least one EUDCC (vaccination, recovery, negative test)
Austria Yes Yes
Belgium Yes Yes
Bulgaria Yes Yes
Croatia Yes Yes
Cyprus Yes No
Czechia Yes Yes
Denmark Yes Yes
Estonia Yes Yes
Finland In test phase No
France Yes No
Germany Yes Yes
Greece Yes Yes
Hungary In test phase No
Ireland Yes No
Italy Yes No
Latvia Yes Yes
Lithuania Yes Yes
Luxembourg Yes Yes
Malta In test phase No
The Netherlands Yes No
Poland Yes Yes
Portugal Yes Yes
Romania Yes No
Slovakia Yes No
Slovenia Yes No
Spain Yes Yes
Sweden Yes No
Non-EU countries
Liechtenstein Yes No
Switzerland Yes No
Iceland Yes Yes
Norway Yes No


  • 27 January

    Guidelines laying out interoperability requirements of digital vaccination certificates were adopted, building on discussion held between the Commission and Member States in the eHealth Network since November 2020.

  • 17 March

    The Commission proposed a legislative text establishing a common framework for an EU certificate.

  • 14 April

    The Council adopted its mandate to start negotiations with the European Parliament on the proposal.

  • 22 April

    Member States’ representatives in the eHealth Network agreed on guidelines describing the main technical specifications for the implementation of the system. This was a crucial step for the establishment of the necessary infrastructure at EU level.

  • 7 May

    The Commission started the pilot test of the EU interoperability infrastructure (EU Gateway) that will facilitate the authentication of the EU Certificates.

  • 20 May

    The European Parliament and the Council agreed on the EU Digital COVID Certificate.

  • 1 June

    EU Gateway (interconnection of national systems) goes live.

  • 1 – 30 June

    Warm-up phase: Member States can launch the certificate on a voluntary basis provided they are ready to issue and verify certificates, and have the necessary legal base in place.

  • mid-June

    Revised Council Recommendation on travel within the EU.

  • 1 July

    The EU Digital COVID Certificate enters into application throughout the EU.

  • 1 July – 12 August

    Phase-in period: if a Member State is not yet ready to issue the new certificate to its citizens, other formats can still be used and should be accepted in other Member States.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here