European Commission plans to have mutual recognition of COVID-19 certificates with the United States


The European Union is opening its borders this summer, probably at early June. The proposed digital green certificate aims to ensure mobility not only for European Union citizens, but also for other countries. The European Commission is currently in talks with United States authorities, at the technical level, to ensure that the certificates comply with the regulations of non-EU countries.

A United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) spokesperson confirmed that meetings with US representatives are held this week to make travel between Europe and the United States possible.

“As we’ve already got in our proposal on the digital green certificates, third countries can be granted an adequacy decision. For us, it’s important to work with other countries wherever their systems are compatible with our own.

We’ve seen a lot of interest amongst other countries. A number of third countries have had contact with the commission on the subject and are interested, but as things stand, our priority is to make sure that it works within the European Union … We are having contacts with the United States on the digital green certificate, and in particular, with respect to coherence and compatibility, where commission services have had initial technical exchanges with the United States,” the spokesperson said at a press conference.

A digital green certificate will show proof that a person has been vaccinated against COVID-19, or has undergone a diagnostic test that has had negative results or has recovered from the disease. Currently, non-essential travel to the European Union from third countries is restricted, with the exception of a limited number of countries.

Digital green certificates can be used in all member states of the European Union, but are also available to the countries of the European Economic Area: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Finally, it can be issued to residents or citizens of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Holy See if they are vaccinated by a EU member country.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here